How to choose number of layers and neurons

I am a newbie to deep learning and after watching a video on dl, I got thinking.
How does one choose the number of hidden layers to use for a network? Also, how do you choose the number of neurons to use for each hidden layer?
Thank you.

4 Likes

That’s such a great question, with a horribly unsatisfying answer:

It depends.

I know, not helpful. But alas, it’s true.

What I’ll say is that there are a number of resources that might help you decide on a good place to start - but nothing will ever beat the king of model/layer/neuron selection: Iteration.

However…

…for some general rules/places to get started, check out this blog post, which has the following chart - which can be a helpful place to get the party started!

Excuse my terrible formatting:

______ Number of Hidden layers ______

Num Hidden Layers Result
none Only capable of representing linear separable functions or decisions.
1 Can approximate any function that contains a continuous mapping from one finite space to another.
2 Can represent an arbitrary decision boundary to arbitrary accuracy with rational activation functions and can approximate any smooth mapping to any accuracy.
>2 Additional layers can learn complex representations (sort of automatic feature engineering) for layer layers.

You’ll notice that num_hidden_layers requires you to have a good understanding of your data, which is a trend you’ll notice everywhere in this field!

The blog also references a set of “back of the napkin” rules I see often quoted when it comes num_neurons in a hidden layer:

_________ Number of Neurons _________

• The number of hidden neurons should be between the size of the input layer and the size of the output layer.
  • The number of hidden neurons should be 2/3 the size of the input layer, plus the size of the output layer.
  • The number of hidden neurons should be less than twice the size of the input layer.